South Seas - South Pacific Paradise
Which one of our 20,000 islands will you call paradise?
Follow in the footsteps of the great explorers as you set sail on a voyage of discovery to the South Seas . . .

The South Seas or the South Pacific as it is also known is home to around 20,000 islands, the first of which were "discovered" by the likes of James Cook and then visited by the likes of Captain Bligh and HMS Bounty.

Robert Louis Stevenson, author of Treasure Island, was another famous visitor to the South Seas and after a life of travel he lived on the island of Samoa in the South Pacific until his death in 1894.

Today, the islands of the South Seas are divided into three zones - Polynesia, Micronesia and Melanesia - and a warm tropical welcome awaits you.

Polynesia is the name given to the tropical islands that fall within a triangle of the South Pacific with Hawaii, Easter Island and New Zealand at its three points. Here you will find the likes of Tonga, Samoa, the Cook Islands, Tuvaluand the Wallis and Futuna islands.

Micronesia also falls partly within this triangle and is found to the north of Polynesia. It is home to the Caroline Islands, Guam and the Mariana Islands, the Marshall Islands and the hundreds of small islands that make up the Federation Of Micronesia itself.

In the South West corner of the Pacific lie the islands of Melanesia including Fiji, New Caledonia, the Solomon Islands and Vanuatu.

And of course no trip to the other side of the world would be complete without a visit to Australia, the world's smallest continent and its biggest island, or New Zealand, the "land of the long white cloud".

Both Australia and New Zealand offer perfect staging posts on your voyage of discovery to the South Seas.

But however you reach the South Seas, one thing is for certain. With over 20,000 islands to chose from, you will be spoilt for choice when it comes to setting foot on your very own paradise island.

The South Seas


Lonely Planet Guide To
The South Pacific & Micronesia

Lonely Planet Guide to The South Pacific

South Pacific & Micronesia
Price: £12.59 (
recommended price £17.99)
This 820 page guide includes coverage of all the Pacific islands - Easter Island, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, Niue, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Pitcairn Island, Rarotonga & the Cook Islands, Samoa, American Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tahiti & French Polynesia, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Wallis & Futuna.
Order your copy now securely online direct from Lonely Planet

Lonely Planet Guide To Fiji

Fiji Travel Guide

Price: £9.09 (
reccommended price £12.99)
Lonely Planet's guide to Fiji covers all aspects of this most-popular of Pacific Island travel destinations. Bula and welcome to the diverse islands of Fiji!
Order your copy now securely online direct from Lonely Planet
Australia - Gateway To The South Seas
Norfolk Island

New Zealand
New Zealand
New Zealand

American Samoa
Cook Islands
Easter Island
French Polynesia
Wallis and Futuna

The Federated States of Micronesia
Marshall Islands
Northern Mariana Islands
Wake Island

Bismarck Archipelago
New Caledonia
New Guinea
Maluku Islands
Solomon Islands
Torres Strait Islands

© 2006-2017 All Rights Reserved.